SWU Home
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Medicine

URL: http://med.swu.ac.th/
Phone: (662) 260-2122-4, 260-2233-5, 260-2950-3
Fax (662) 260-0125

The Faculty of Medicine was established on June 16th, 1985 to tackle the shortage of physicians in Thailand. The project was initiated as a joint venture between Srinakharinwirot University and the Bangkok Metropolitan Administration. The goal was to produce competent and skillful graduates by effectively utilizing existing manpower, equipment, and organization at that time. Since then, we have continually improved our standard of teaching to keep up with academic advancements and to suit the needs of the nation.

The Faculty strives to produce doctors who are not merely doctors, but also human beings. As Prince Mahidol, the father of Thai modern medicine, once kindly wrote for medical students: “I do not want you to be only a doctor, but I also want you to be a man.” It is our Faculty’s core value to produce outstanding practitioners. From the earliest days of students’ education, we endeavor to instill a sense of public service and an appreciation for the human aspects of medicine compassion, empathy and communication skills_as well as the scientific concept of medicine.

The Faculty has a total of 20 departments, 5 preclinical and 15 clinical departments. Preclinical departments are Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology, and Physiology. Additionally clinical departments are Anesthesiology, Internal Medicine, Emergency Medicine, Forensic Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Ophthalmology, Orthopaedics, Otoehinolaryngology, Pathology, Paediatrics, Preventive and Social Medicine, Phychiatry, Radiology, Rehabilitation Medicine, and Surgery.

The Faculty have also cooperated with the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, The University of Nottingham, United Kingdom by initiating the one and only Joint Medicial Programme in Thailand. The joint programme is a special programme in which students initially attend 3-year basic medical sciences (B.Med.Sci) degree at the University of Nottingham, then join the 3-year clinical study at Faculty of Medicine Srinakharinwirot University to complete their Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree from Srinakharinwirot University. The course started enrolling the first batch of students since 2003.


Doctor of Mediicine (M.D.)

Doctor of Medicine (Joint Program)

B.Med.Sci (University of Nottingham)

M.D. (Srinakharinwirot University)

Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Biomedical Sciences, Molecular Biology, Dermatology

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)

Biomedical Sciences, Molecular Biology